Why Everyone Should Own A Poster

My bedroom, once an empty and dull room now glows vibrantly thanks to the many posters that are plastered to the wall. The first time I got my hands on a poster was when I was gifted a lifelike graphic of a T-Rex from Jurassic Park, which was one of my favorite movies at the time (still is). I remember a feeling of awe running through my body as I stared in utter disbelief at the dinosaur in all its glory. I hung the poster on the wall opposite the door, so it would be the first thing a person would see upon entering the room.

As time passed, my fascination with posters grew to such an extent that I didn’t wish to leave a single blank space in the wall, but rather make sure that it was covered with a poster. Soon enough, every inch of the walls was covered with a variety of posters, ranging from music and movies to sports and quotes. My exhibit of posters gained much attention from friends and family, who admired the quotes and related to many a TV show or movie. However, not everyone shared my enthusiasm about the posters; soon after the craze that accompanied Christopher Nolan’s Dark Knight (2008), my room’s new spectacle was a life size poster of Heath Ledger’s joker writing a bloody message on the wall.

 

tdk-dec14-why-so-serious-poster

 

Upon walking into the room and witnessing this somewhat disturbing image, my longtime science tutor nearly fainted in a frenzy of fear. Fortunately, I was let off the hook, but not before a twenty-minute lecture on disturbing images and their harmful consequences, which took a lot longer than it should have, partly because of my interrupting fits of laughter. Nevertheless, the posters usually elicited positive responses from visitors and encouraged me to expand my collection, which now includes more than thirty posters.

While some might see posters as intrusive and inartistic, I respectfully disagree. With the help of posters, my room converted itself from a dull and soulless place to a display of creativity and passion, where each poster reflected an interest or an ambition I so strongly associated myself with. While almost all my posters have been replaced with newer ones, the poster of a T-Rex still hangs above the bed, ever so magnificently, reminding me of the first time I saw a poster and the inspiration it instilled in me.

So what do you think about posters and their relevance in ones life? Let me know! 🙂

 

t-rex-jurassic-park

 

 

Buzz me:

©Aman Adlakha for PosterGully.com

Connect via adlakhaaman@yahoo.com

Leave a Reply

